Back to Basics (by Stefaan)

When I started my first blog, about five years ago (it’s still online if you’re interested, at www.thelonesomepiker.blogspot.be ), fly fishing for pike wasn’t as popular yet, as it is now. And we certainly didn’t have that much stuff to work with. The internet nowadays is filled with tying materials, tutorials and techniques on how to tie and fish pike flies. And that’s a good thing. I love the fact that all those great ideas from all over the world are available from my chair in my living room. But it also made me forget to use simple, proven patterns that work just as well now as they did a couple of years ago.

Like a “simple” EP Streamer for example, I have to admit that I hardly ever tie one anymore, nor do I fish with them. Why? … I honestly have no idea. They cast like heaven, they move well and they catch fish. I even recommend them most of the time to people who start with fly fishing for pike. So it was about time that I did something about it. And therefore, today I tied EP streamers, and nothing else.

They’re all about 16 to 17cm long, tied on a Partridge Attitude Extra 4/0.

4249 1 R

4250 1 R

4251 1 R

4252 1 R

4253 1 R

That should keep me going for a while…

This entry was posted in Pike Flies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

